Mathematics Department - Rutgers University Mathematics Department Committees and Service

Department Committees and Service Activities, 2015-2016

Personnel Planning and Policy Committee

The Personnel Planning and Policy Committee is an elected committee whose main responsibilities are to plan for the development of the mathematics faculty and to implement this by organizing and coordinating procedures for new personnel appointments.

C. WoodwardActing Chairex officio
S. Tahvildar-ZadehUndergraduate Vice-Chairex officio
Z. HanActing Graduate Vice-Chairex officio
A. Kontorovich Algebra/Logicuntil Fall 2017
X. HuangY. LiAnalysisuntil Fall 2017
R. FalkApplied Mathematicsuntil Fall 2017
X. RongGeometry/Topology/Lie Theoryuntil Fall 2017
F. Luo
P. Feehan
S. Thomas
Y. Li At-Largethrough Spring 2018

Alternate Members will serve when the primary member is unavailable or is on leave.
Area members serve until new elections in the Fall of odd-numbered years.
At-Large members serve until new elections in the Fall of even-numbered years.

Graduate Committee

The Graduate Committee is an elected committee which has the responsibility for the administration of the graduate program in mathematics and the implementation of policies of the Department.

Z. HanVice-Chair for the Graduate Program ex officio
V. RetakhA. KontorovichAlgebra/Logicuntil Fall 2018
X. HuangR. NussbaumAnalysisuntil Fall 2018
E. SpeerD. OconeApplied Mathematicsuntil Fall 2018
X. RongP. FeehanGeometry/Topologyuntil Fall 2018
F. LuoDirector of Professional Developmentex officio
Z. Han
M. Kiessling
C. Weibel
N. SesumAt-Largeuntil Fall 2017

Alternates will serve when the primary member is unavailable or on leave.
Area members serve until new elections in th Spring of even-numbered years.
At-Large members serve until new elections in the Spring of odd-numbered years.

Undergraduate Committee

The Undergraduate Committee has two members elected for two-year terms, and two members appointed annually by the Vice-Chair for the Undergraduate Program. It has the responsibility to assist and advise the Vice-Chair in the administration of the undergraduate program in mathematics and in the implementation of policies of the Department.

S. Tahvildar-ZadehVice-Chair for the Undergraduate Program ex officio
T. Butler, V. SchefferHead Advisor, Transfer Advisor ex officio
L. HirschDirector of Basic Skills Program ex officio
M. WeingartAssistant Undergraduate Vice-chair ex officio
M. BealsActuarial Advisor, Honors Advisor ex officio
A. Soffer, G. CherlinOmbudsman, Computer Coordinator ex officio
L. Carbone, A. KontorovichElected Membersuntil Fall 2017

General Department Service Activities

  • Acting Chair: C.Woodward
  • Director of the Center for Mathematical Sciences Research: J. Lebowitz
  • Director of the Center for Non-Linear Analysis: Y. Li
  • Director/Associate Director of the Rutgers Center for Systems and Control (SYCON): E. Sontag / H. Sussmann
  • Center for Quantitative Biology Director: E. Sontag
  • Director for New Faculty Appointments: R. Nussbaum
  • Colloquium Co-Chairs: J. Tunnell, V. Retakh
  • Library Committee: M. Kiessling, J. Lepowsky
  • Lewis Lectures Committee: Y. Li, V. Retakh, E. Sontag
  • D'Atri Lectures Committee: H. Brezis, S. Chanillo, Y. Li
  • New Brunswick Faculty Council Representative: L. Carbone
  • Peer Evaluation Committee: TBA
  • Computer Committee: R. Falk, K. Myers, P. Feehan, G. Cherlin, R. Hynes, M. Saks
  • Department Newsletter: T. Butler
  • Committee on Research Grants (advice on proposals): F. Luo, K. Mischaikow, E. Sontag
  • Wolfson Memorial Fund Committee: T. Butler
  • Academic Initiatives Panel: TBA

Graduate Program Service Activities

  • Acting Vice-Chair for the Graduate Program: Z. Han
  • Director for Professional Development of Graduate Students: F. Luo
  • Director of Master's Program in Mathematical Finance: P. Feehan
  • Graduate Support Committee: TBA
  • Graduate Student--Faculty Liaison Committee: a group that maintains student evaluations of graduate courses, offers advice in matters of concern to graduate students, and generally eases the process of communication between faculty and graduate students.
    • Faculty: S. Miller
    • Graduate Students: Matt Charnley, Rebecca Coulson, Brooke Logan, Katie McKeon, Abigail Raz, Chloe Urbanski, Richard Voepel
  • Mentoring committee for students entering '16: Carbone, Falk, Feehan, Yanyan Li, Kahn, Kiessling, Miller, Soffer, Woodward
  • TA Training Coordinator: T. Butler, M. Weingart
  • Graduate Summer Internship Coordinator: E. Sontag
  • Institute for Quantitative Biomedicine Graduate Director: E. Sontag
  • Committee on Training Grants: C. Woodward, E. Carlen, K. Mischaikow, J. Lepowsky, S. Miller (ex officio)

Undergraduate Program Service Activities

  • Vice-Chair for the Undergraduate Program: S. Tahvildar-Zadeh
  • Assistant Vice-Chair for the Undergraduate Program: M. Weingart
  • Head Undergraduate Advisor: T. Butler
  • Director of Basic Skills Program and Precalculus: L. Hirsch
  • Director of Biomathematics Major: E. Sontag
  • Professional Development Advisor for Teaching-intensive Faculty: M. Beals
  • Undergraduate Course Scheduling Committee: TBA
  • Ombudsman: A. Soffer
  • Computer Coordinator: G. Cherlin
  • Peer Mentor Coordinator: S. Goldstein
  • Grading Personnel Manager: TBA
  • Course Coordinators:
    • Math 103/104/106: M. Weingart
    • Math 135 (fall): Yi-Zhi Huang Math 135 (spring): TBA
    • Math 151 (fall): V. Scheffer, Math 151 (spring): V. Retakh
    • Math 152 (fall): V. Retakh, Math 152 (spring): V. Scheffer
    • Math 244: M. Kiessling, Math 250: J. Lepowsky
    • Math 251: E. Speer, Math 300: M. Saks
    • Math 311 (fall): R. Wheeden
  • Special Permissions Committee: L. Hirsch, M. Saks, A. Seneres, E. Speer, S. Tahvildar-Zadeh, M. Weingart
  • Liaison Committee for Mathematics Department Service Courses: E. Sontag
  • Putnam exam team advisors: M. Saks, A. Buch
  • Mathematical Careers and Ideas: TBA
  • Advisor for Research Experiences for Undergraduates (REU): A. Buch, J. Komós
  • Actuarial advisor: D. Ocone
  • Mathematics Major brochure: TBA
  • Committee on Honors and Prizes: M. Saks (head), L. Borisov, E. Carlen, J. Komlós, S. Saraf, C. Woodward
For questions regarding courses and/or special permission, please contact
For questions or comments about this site, please contact
© 2019 Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey. All rights reserved.