Mathematics Department - News Item: Eduardo Sontag Receives 2001 Reid Prize

News Item: Eduardo Sontag Receives 2001 Reid Prize

Professor Eduardo Sontag has been named the winner of the 2001 W.T. and Idalia Reid Prize in Applied Mathematics, awarded by the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics. The prize consists of $10,000 and an engraved medal. These will be presented at the SIAM Annual Meeting in San Diego, July 9-13, 2001, where Professor Sontag will also give an invited address.

The prize is given annually for research in, or other contributions to, the broadly defined areas of differential equations and control theory. The 2001 Reid Prize selection committee members were John A. Burns (chair), Ruth F. Curtain, James G. Glimm, John Guckenheimer, and Arthur J. Krener. They cited Professor Sontag's deep and important scientific contributions to nonlinear control theory.

This page was last updated on June 01, 2008 at 02:31 pm and is maintained by
For questions regarding courses and/or special permission, please contact
For questions or comments about this site, please contact
© 2019 Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey. All rights reserved.